PhD oppotunities

2019

23 – Laboratoire d’Etude des Microstructures et de Mécanique des Matériaux, LEM3, UMR CNRS 7239, Metz, Université de Lorraine.

Thesis topic: Identification microstructurale (2D/3D) dans les milieux argileux sous chargement mécanique. Details…

Primary referents: Mahdia Hattab mahdia.hattab@univ-lorraine.fr – Mohamad Jrad mohamad.jrad@univ-lorraine.fr

22 – Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KULeuven).

Thesis topic: Diffusion of gases in desaturated clay-based materials. Details…

Primary referents: Janssen Hans hans.janssen@kuleuven.be – Jacops Elke ejacops@sckcen.be – Maes Norbert nmaes@sckcen.be

21 – CERI Matériaux & Procédés – Laboratoire de Génie Civil et de géoEnvironnement (LGCgE), 59500 DOUAI, France and LRMH (Laboratoire de Recherche des Monuments historiques) – Pôle Béton29, 77420 Champs-sur-Marne, France.

Thesis topic: CASSIS project: Cement Archeometry and SynthesiS: InsightS from the 19th century binders and their durability. Details…

Primary referents: Vincent Thiery vincent.thiery@imt-lille-douai.fr, Myriam Bouichou myriam.bouichou@culture.gouv.fr 

20 – CSTB (Champs-sur-Marne) near Paris.

Thesis topic: The Fire behavior of Chemically Bonded Anchors in Concrete . Details…

Primary referent: Nicolas Pinoteau nicolas.pinoteau@cstb.fr

19 – The PhD subject proposed at PHENIX laboratory (Sorbonne University, Paris) in collaboration with IPCMS-Strasbourg (group of O. Ersen) and IFPEN-Rueil-Malmaison (group of L. Barré).

Thesis topic: Molecular and colloidal transport in multi-scale porous media: In situ studies coupling temporal and spatial scales. Details…

Primary referents: Pierre E. Levitz (PHENIX) pierre.levitz@sorbonne-universite.fr – Natalie Malikova (PHENIX) natalie.malikova@sorbonne-universite.fr – Pierre Rabu (IPCMS) pierre.rabu@ipcms.unistra.fr

18 – BRGM + LBNL (USA) and ISTO (France), host University: University of Orléans.

Thesis topic: Modeling coupled transport processes through semi-permeable membranes with a reactive transport modeling approach. Details…

Primary referent: Christophe Tournassat (BRGM, ISTO) (c.tournassat@brgm.fr)

17 – Application deadline: no later than May 15th 2019 – Hydrasa team of the Institut de Chimie des Milieux et Matériaux de Poitiers (IC2MP), France.

Thesis topic: Organisation of clay matrix in soils: effects of mineralogy and physico-chemical condition. Details…

Primary referent: Fabien Hubert (fabien.hubert@univ-poitiers.fr)

16 – BRGM/ ICMN/ ISTO, University of Orléans, France.

Thesis topic:  Study and development of an innovative and eco-compatible composite material for the universal and reversible trapping of metallic pollutants: application to the remediation of industrial effluents and recycling of metals. Details…

Primary referents: ISTO: Fabrice MULLER (fabrice.muller@univ-orleans.fr) – BRGM: Alain SERON (a.seron@brgm.fr)  – ICMN: Sandrine Delpeux-Ouldriane (sandrine.delpeux@cnrs-orleans.fr)

15 – IFP Energies nouvelles (IFPEN), Rueil-Malmaison and EA 4592 Géoressources et Environnement, Pessac, France.

Thesis topic: Multiscale study of reactive transport processes : Numerical modeling using Adaptative Mesh Refinement for CO2 leakage in a carbonate aquifer. Details…

Primary referents: Dr. BACHAUD Pierre (pierre.bachaud@ifpen.fr) and Dr. BOUQUET Sara (sarah.bouquet@ifpen.fr)

14 – Institut de Génie Civil et Mécanique (GeM), Central School of Nantes co-supervised with the University of Rome TorVergata (Italy).

Thesis topic: Relations entre la microstructure, les déformations et les écoulements dans des matériaux de faible perméabilité en conditions de saturation partielles. Details…

Primary referents: Julien Réthoré (julien.rethore@ec-nantes.fr) and Francesca Casini (co-supervisor in Italie: francesca.casini@uniroma2.it)

13 – Laboratory of Physical Chemistry and Microbiology for Materials and the Environment (LCPME), Villers-lès-Nancy.

Thesis topic: Antimicrobial effect of copper and zinc based layered double hydroxides (LDH): A study of the mechanisms of interaction between LDH and various microorganisms. Details…

Primary referents: Christian Ruby (christian.ruby@univ-lorraine.fr) or Sofiane El-Kirat-Chatel (sofiane.el-kirat-chatel@univ-lorraine.fr)

12 – Ifsttar de Champs sur Marne (MAST/ CPDM)

Thesis topic: Amélioration des sols liquéfiables par bio-précipitation . Details…

Primary referent: Marielle GUEGUEN (marielle.gueguen@ifsttar.fr)

11 – Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL, Grenoble) and Laboratoire de Physique des Solides (LPS, Orsay) 

Thesis topic: Multi-scale dynamics of water in geo-inspired nanochannels with variable hydrophilicity. Details…

Primary referents: Dr/HdR Pascale LAUNOIS (pascale.launois@u-psud.fr), Dr Erwan PAINEAU (erwan.paineau@u-psud.fr) and Dr Stéphane ROLS (rols@ill.fr)

10 – GEOAZUR

Thesis topic: Study of metallic contamination in two hydrosystems (Mexican and New Caledonian) impacted by mining activities: ecological state, reactivity and transport of contaminants. Details…

Primary referent: Christophe RENAC (christophe.renac@unice.fr)

9 –  UMR 8187LOG, Université du Littoral Côte d’Opale,32 avenue Foch, 62930 Wimereux 

Candidatures: Interested candidates are invited to send by e-mail before Monday 25 March a detailed CV, a letter of motivation, a copy of the last diplomas, the Master 1 and 2 marks obtained and possibly up to two letters of recommendation. 

Thesis topic: Impact/devenir des poussières industrielles sur les sédiments/sols de Flandre maritime. Details…

Primary referents: Jacinthe Caillaud (jacinthe.caillaud@univ-littoral.fr) ; Sylvie Philippe (sylvie.philippe@univ-littoral.fr)

8 – « Transfers, Reactivity, Materials for Clean Processes » of the Institute of Material Science of Mulhouse

Candidatures: Interested candidates are requested to contact us until April 8th 2019 and submit a single pdf file containing a cover letter, CV and transcript of records.

Thesis topic: Synthesis of catalysts based on iron-rich hybrid talc-like lamellar materials for application in advanced oxidation processes. Details…

Primary referent: Lionel Limousy (lionel.limousy@uha.fr)

Other supervisor: Liva Dzene (liva.dzene@uha.fr)

7 – GeoRessources – Université de Lorraine – CNRS – CREGU

Candidatures: send a CV, a letter of motivation and the name of two referees by email to the five contact persons above before march 31th.

Thesis topic: Characterisation study of metals in sedimentary formation waters. Details…

Primary referent: Michel Cathelineau (michel.cathelineau@univ-lorraine.fr)

co-supervisors: Antonin Richard (antonin.richard@univ-lorraine.fr), Marie-Christine Boiron (mariechristine.boiron@univ-lorraine.fr)

Contact persons at TOTAL company: Frank Despinois (frank.despinois@total.com) ; Claude Gapillou (claude.gapillou@total.com)

6 – IFSTTAR/Université de Sherbrooke 

Thesis topic: Utilisation d’argiles calcinées dans le développement de ciments composés. Details…

Primary referents: Dimitri Deneele, IFSTTAR (dimitri.deneele@ifsttar.fr) ; Arezki Tagnit Hamou , Université de Sherbrooke  (Arezki.Tagnit-Hamou@USherbrooke.ca )

5 – University of Orléans, Ecole doctorale Energie, Matériaux, Sciences de la Terre et de l’Univers (EMSTU)

Thesis topic: Couplage entre processus chimiques et mécaniques lors de l’hydratation d’une bentonite en température. Details…

Primary referents: Joachim TREMOSA (j.tremosa@brgm.fr) ; Stéphane GABOREAU (s.gaboreau@brgm.fr) ; Hugues RAIMBOURG (hugues.raimbourg@univ-orleans.fr)

4 –  Deadline for application May 15th 2019: Institute of Chemistry of Clermont-Ferrand

Thesis topic: Title of the thesis: Elaboration of Layered Double Hydroxide based materials with tunable hierarchical porosity. Details…

Primary referent: Vanessa prevot (vanessa.prevot@uca.fr)

3 –  University of Limoges / ISM –University of Bordeaux

Thesis topic: Etude physico-chimique multi-échelle de minéraux argileux nanostructurés pour une gestion raisonnée des ressources minérales. Details…

Primary referents: A. Courtin-Nomade (alexandra.courtin@unilim.fr) ; E. Joussein (emmanuel.joussein@unilim.fr) ; Bonhommeau (sebastien.bonhommeau@u-bordeaux.fr)

2 – The online application and supporting documents are due by Monday 21st January 2019 and References should arrive no later than Monday 28th January 2019 – University of Leicester, United Kingdom.

Thesis topic: Self-lubrication carbon coatings for aerospace dry drilling application. Details…

Primary referents: Prof Haitao Ye  and Prof Marco Oggioni

1 – The online application and supporting documents are due by Monday 21st January 2019 and References should arrive no later than Monday 28th January 2019 – University of Leicester, United Kingdom.

Thesis topic: Surface functionalised nanodiamonds for antimicrobial resistance application. Details…

Primary referents: Prof Haitao Ye  and Prof Marco Oggioni

2018

11 – June: The thesis will take place in Orléans, on the BRGM site, with periods of travel at the University of Limoges.

Thesis topic: Fabrication d’agrégats en filière de construction de sol : influence de la qualité des liaisons organo-minérales sur les propriétés des Anthroposols. Details…

Primary referents: Samuel COUSSY (BRGM) s.coussy@brgm.fr ; à Emmanuel JOUSSEIN (Université de Limoges)  emmanuel.joussein@unilim.fr

10 – May:  Delaware Environmental Institute, Harker Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Laboratory, 221 Academy St., Suite 250A, University of Delaware, Newark.

Thesis topic: Graduate student position in environmental soil chemistry. Details…

Primary referent: Donald L. Sparks, dlsparks@udel.edu

9 – May: ISTO (Institut des Sciences de la Terre d’Orléans) et du BRGM (Bureau de Recherches Géologiques et Minières).

Thesis topic: Diagnostic 4D d’un Anthroposol minier : Impact de la pédogenèse sur la réactivité et le transfert des contaminants métalliques et métalloïdes. Details…

Primary referents: Lydie LE FORESTIER (ISTO, lydie.leforestier@univ-orleans.fr) ; co-encadrée par Nicolas DEVAU (BRGM, n.devau@brgm.fr) ; Philippe BATAILLARD (BRGM, p.bataillard@brgm.fr)

8 – May: Laboratoire Géomatériaux et Environnement, UPEM – Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée.

Thesis topic: Etude de  la structure et de la durabilité de pérovskites dopées par des terres rares. Details…

Primary referents: Martine Tarrida martine.tarrida@u-pem.fr, Chloé Fourdrin chloe.fourdrin@u-pem.fr ; Ali Bedidi ali.bedidi@u-pem.fr

7 – April: ICCF UMR CNRS 6296, Université Clermont Auvergne.

Thesis topic: Elaboration of Layered Double Hydroxides based composite materials with tunable hierarchical porosity by freeze-casting. Details…

Primary referent: Vanessa Prevost (DR CNRS) vanessa.prevot@uca.fr

6 – April: Beginning of the thesis planned the Octobre 1st 2018: GEOPS, UMR CNRS 8148, Orsay and IMPMC, UMR CNRS 7590, Paris.

Thesis topic: Datation des cuirasses ferrugineuses en Amazonie Centrale, Brésil: relation avec les changements climatiques. Details…

Primary referents: Cécile Gautheron (GEOPS) cecile.gautheron@u-psud.fr ; Thierry Allard (IMPMC) thierry.allard@upmc.fr

5 – March: Beginning of the thesis planned the Octobre 1st 2018: UMR CNRS 7315 Centre Européen de la Céramique, Limoges.

Thesis topic: Développement d’un liant minéral anti-feu à base d’argilite. Details…

Primary referent:  S. Rossignol (IRCER) sylvie.rossignol@unilim.fr

4 – March: Beginning of the thesis planned the Octobre 1st 2018: UMR CNRS 7315 Centre Européen de la Céramique, Limoges.

Thesis topic: Développement de matériaux absorbants pour les antennes à base de liant géopolymère . Details…

Primary referents:  S. Rossignol (IRCER) sylvie.rossignol@unilim.fr  et M. Lalande / O. Tantot (XLIM) Université de Limoges.

3 – March – Team HydrASA, Institut de Chimie des Milieux et Matériaux de Poitiers (IC2MP).

Thesis topic: Diffusion and adsorption of nutrients in clayey matrices . Details…

Primary referent: Emmanuel Tertre emmanuel.tertre@univ-poitiers.fr

2 – March: Laboratoire Navier, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech, in Champs-sur-Marne, just outside Paris.

Thesis topic: Creep of clays: Experiments on thin clay films and their molecular modeling. Details…

Primary referent: Matthieu Vandamme matthieu.vandamme@enpc.fr

1 – February: Beginning of the thesis planned the Octobre 1st 2018 – Institut de Science de Matériaux de Mulhouse. Details…

Thesis topic: Elaboration de peintures zéolithiques pour la décontamination moléculaire en orbite

Primary referent: Jean DAOU (MPC-IS2M)  jean.daou@uha.fr

2017

15 – Thesis proposition: Ecole des Mines de Douai, département Génie Civil et Environnemental et l’Université de Liège, département d’Architecture, Environnement, Géologie et Constructions (ArGEnCo), Douai and Liege.

Thesis topic: Valorisation des fines de recyclage des matériaux silicatés (tuiles et briques). Details…

Primary referents: Pr. David Bulteel, Mines Douai, DGCE (david.bulteel@mines-douai.fr) – Pr. Luc Courard, Université de Liège, département ArGEnCo, GeMMe

14 – Thesis proposition: UMPC – Sorbonne Université, Paris VI.  

Thesis topic: Chemical reactions in presence of a sub-nanometric surface water layer or confined water followed by NAP-XPS. Details…

Primary referents: Jean-Jacques GALLET (jean-jacques.gallet@upmc.fr) – François ROCHER (francois.rocher@upmc.fr)

13 – UMR 7327 ISTO Université d’Orléans/CNRS/BRGM, Orléans.

Thesis topic: Cinétiques et mécanismes des processus d’échanges anioniques dans les rouilles vertes nanocristallines. Details…

Primary referents: Christophe Tournassat (c.tournassat@brgm.fr) – Co-encadrant : Sylvain Grangeon

12 – Thesis Laboratoire Chrono-Environnement (Besançon). 

Thesis topic: Origine et devenir des déchets issus de la paléo-métallurgie du fer en Bourgogne Franche-Comté. Details…

Primary referents: Flavien Choulet (Chrono-Environnement) flavien.choulet@univ-fcomte.fr et Martine Buatier (Chrono-Environnement) martine.buatier@univ-fcomte.fr

11 – 2 thesis propositions in the Soil and Environmental Biogeochemistry Group – Université du Wyoming – College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Department of Ecosystem Science and Management. Wyoming (USA). Details…

Primary referents: Dr. Mengqiang Zhu (mzhu6@uwyo.edu)

10 – Thesis Labex OSUG@2020 and BRGM, Orléans, France.

Thesis topic: MnOx(Red) : Interactions redox entre les oxydes de manganèse lamellaires et la matière organique des sols. Details…

Primary referents: Bruno Lanson, ISTerre – Grenoble (bruno.lanson@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr) et Sylvain Grangeon, BRGM – Orléans (s.grangeon@brgm.fr)

9 – Thesis GRESES (Researche Group Water-Soil-Environment), University of Limoges, France.

Thesis topic: Caractérisation de la réactivité des matières premières minérales pour le développement d’un liant minéral anti-feu à base d’argilite. Details…

Primary referent: Emmanuel JOUSSEIN (emmanuel.joussein@unilim.fr)

8 – Thesis offer to be filled from October 2017: Centre Européen de la Céramique, Limoges, France.

Thesis topic: Développement d’un liant minéral anti-feu à base d’argilite. Details…

Primary referents: S. Rossignol (sylvie.rossignol@unilim.fr).

7 – Thesis offer to be filled from October 2017: Centre Européen de la Céramique, Limoges, France.

Thesis topic: Formulations de composites à base de liants basse température type géopolymère à base d’argilite et de différents renforts : réalisation d’une pièce par fabrication additive. Details…

Primary referents: S. Rossignol (sylvie.rossignol@unilim.fr) et JF Caron (jean-francois.caron@enpc.fr)

6 – Thesis topic : Deadline for applications June 18th 2017: Laboratoire de Planétologie et Géodynamique (Nantes-Angers), UMR 6112 CNRS, France.

Thesis topic: Rôle des sidérophores bactériens dans les processus biogéochimiques contrôlant la mobilité des métaux dans le sol et leur transfert vers la plante. Details…

Primary referent: Thierry Lebeau, Professeur LPG-Nantes (thierry.lebeau@univ-nantes.fr)

5 – Thesis topic: Beginning of thesis november 2017: Master Argiles-IMACS : Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire des Environnements Continentaux (LIEC), UMR7360 CNRS-Univ. Lorraine, France.

Thesis topic: Mécanismes d’altération d’agrégats organo-mineraux ; application aux rivières sidérurgiques de Lorraine. Details…

Primary referent : Emmanuelle MONTARGES-PELLETIER, LIEC (emmanuelle.montarges@univ-lorraine.fr)

4 – Thesis topic IC2MP UMR CNRS 7285, Poitiers, France.

Thesis topic: Organisation de la matrice argileuse des sols : effets de la minéralogie et de l’amendement. Details…

Primary referent: Fabien Hubert (fabien.hubert@univ-poitiers.fr)

3 – Thesis topic The ISTerre (CNRS & University of Grenoble Alpes) and the Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL, Grenoble, France).

Thesis topic: Structure and dynamics of water in ordinary Portland and low CO2 cements. Details…

Primary referents: Alejandro Fernandez-Martinez (alex.fernandez-martinez@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr), Alexander Van Driessche (alexander.van-driessche@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr), Gabriel J. Cuello (cuello@ill.fr)

2 – Thesis topic Ecole des Ponts ParisTech/Laboratoire Navier,77455 Marne-la-Vallée, France.

Thesis topic: Caractérisation des propriétés mécaniques à moyen et long termes de matériaux de remblai à base d’argilites excavées. Details…

Primary referent: Yujun Cui (yu-jun.cui@enpc.fr)

1 – Thesis topic IFPEN et le Laboratoire PHENIX :UMR CNRS/UPMC 8234, Rueil-Malmaison, France.

Thesis topic: Développement de techniques innovantes pour la caractérisation de la porosité des roches mères. Details…

Primary referents: Loïc Barré (loic.barre@ifpen.fr), Eric Kohler (eric.kohler@ifpen.fr), Pauline Michel (pauline.michel@ifpen.fr), Pierre LEVITZ (pierre.levitz@upmc.fr).